My Media Consumption.

Hey y’all!

I seriously spent a week and a half trying to come up with a creative title that fully represents me and my life. As it turns out, I’m more literal than creative and nobody really wants to be restricted to a box. Hence, the blog name. Welcome!

I’d love to start the blog with a thought-provoking, well-researched post, or even a solid update, but…the new season of The Real Husbands of Hollywood became available on Netflix yesterday so I’ve been preoccupied.

So, here’s a roundup of what I’ve been reading on the Web recently:

The Case for Reparations: It took me, like, a week to read this, and it was well worth it. I like his writing always and he didn’t disappoint; I rarely think about reparations – because I’m white and privileged – and he made a very compelling case. While I think that I know the history of black culture in America and how it effects the present, I (conveniently) forget just how intentionally and systematically we ensured that the majority of the black people would remain poor and uneducated.

20 Things to Start Doing in Your Relationships: All solid advice.

This Is How a Domestic Violence Victim Falls Through the Cracks: I worked with victims of domestic violence for many years, and generally try to stay away from reading things like this because they just piss me off. I am so incredibly tired of listening to men blame women for the violent, inexcusable crimes that men commit against them. Because we can’t possibly expect the men to have a shred of humanity, right? Your opinion on this is disgusting, Sheriff.

Sitting Is Bad For You. So I Stopped. For a Whole Month.: Funny, unnecessary. I’ll save you the time: Stand up for ten minutes every hour that you are sitting.

Oregon Shooting Draws Obama’s Outrage on Gun Laws:’It’s not the only country that has psychosis,” he added. “And yet, we kill each other in these mass shootings at rates that are exponentially higher than any place else. Well, what’s the difference? The difference is, is that these guys can stack up a bunch of ammunition in their houses.” Truth. I can hardly even entertain any arguments against tighter gun control anymore. I’ve lost my patience for being understanding or tolerant of the ridiculous rhetoric that surrounds the ‘pro-gun’ movement.

On a lighter note, we’ve also watched the entire new season of Orange is the New Black and will probably finish The Real Husbands of Hollywood today. And the Louie finale was also pretty great. Oh! And this podcast with Joe Rogan and Dan Savage was also pretty entertaining.

Alright, that’s a pretty good slice of the media that I’ve consumed recently. What’ve you got? Anything good?

Love,
E

Leave a Reply

