Happy Birthday, Babydoll.

IMG_3563.JPG
We met this goat, donkey, and horse this week – how cool looking is that goat?! – which has nothing to do with this post. I just wanted to share.

Today is Danny’s birthday, and I started the day by reading this, which quickly brought me to tears. It’s the last blog post of a mom who knew that she would die soon from cancer. Here’s an excerpt:

I have so much life I still want to live, but know I won’t have that. I want to be there for my friends as they move with their lives, see my children grow up and become old and grumpy with Rich. All these things are to be denied of me.

But, they are not to be denied of you. So, in my absence, please, please, enjoy life. Take it by both hands, grab it, shake it and believe in every second of it. Adore your children. You have literally no idea how blessed you are to shout at them in the morning to hurry up and clean their teeth.

IMG_3488.JPG

The two most constant reminders I receive from the Universe, on a near-daily basis, are that, one, Life is not easy for anyone, and two, to be (extremely) grateful. The truth is, I have no Faith; I don’t know why we’re here, or what my purpose is, and I’ve never been entirely sure that there’s anyone – or any deity – in control, any Master Plan. My own Brother has called me a ‘true non-believer’ and D’s brother once told me that I ‘need more Disney in me.’ It’s not that I’m rebelliously against Faith, as I was in my younger years. It’s that – as my Mama once said – ‘there are just so many things to believe in.’ Another case of the crippling freedom of too much choice.

But I do know that this Life, as we know it, will end. That’s a Truth. And maybe something better or different or exciting comes next, but maybe it doesn’t. Maybe this is all that we get. And until I Know otherwise, I’m going to practice Gratitude for everything this Life has to offer, the hard stuff and the wonderful. And I’m going to practice Compassion for all of humankind because this Human Experience? It’s confusing and scary and rough, and – I can’t say this often enough – it’s not easy for ANYBODY.

And I am going to LOVE, and love hard. I love all of you SO VERY MUCH. Always, all the ways.

IMG_3450.JPG

With that, I’m off to celebrate the 35th birthday of that guy I adore. Happy 35th, mi amor. 😀

Happy Friday to the rest, and wishing you a WONDERFUL weekend!

Spread the LOVE. ❤

IMG_3561.JPG

Leave a Reply

