Mama’s Day. 💝

Hello Loves!

First things first: Happy Mother’s Day to all the beautiful mothers in the world! I’m lucky to have several wonderful mothers who are very close to my heart. There’s my own mama, who is one of my favorite people in the world and has shown me that mothering continues well after your babies are grown up. There’s my Grandma, who is the matriarch of our large family and one of the most loving people that I’ve ever known. There’s my “step” Grandma, who has never once made us feel like “step” grandchildren. There’s my sister-in-law, who is a naturally wonderful and patient mother to my beautiful niece (and soon-to-be new niece or nephew). And there’s my bestie, Rooms, who is celebrating her first Mother’s Day as mother to one of the more precious babies that I’ve ever seen. Mothers are heroes and I am so grateful to know so many life-changers.


In honor of Mother’s Day, some of my favorite authors – some of whom are also mothers – have given us all an opportunity to be mothers. Glennon Melton, Cheryl Strayed, Brene Brown, Elizabeth Gilbert, and Rob Bell have all joined together to create The Compassion Collective, and they are raising monies for the refugee children in crisis abroad and the homeless youth in crisis here in America.  This group, they break my heart open in the best ways possible, and I am so grateful and in awe of the work that they have done. To read an incredibly beautiful tribute to the mothers, as well as more about their efforts, click here and please, please, PLEASE donate, whatever you can. Small acts with great love will change the world.


In other news, I have remained very, very busy at work. Like, I even went into the office for a few hours yesterday (and was *amazed* at how much I can get done in three hours when I don’t have workers coming in to ask me questions every seven minutes). It’s not my ideal working conditions, but I’m also still so grateful that I get paid to do something that I really enjoy, with bright, compassionate, hardworking people, in a place that I love so much. If I have to work (and, like most people, I have to!), I couldn’t ask for a better place to be doing it.


And while it’s a lot of work, I learned my lessons about the importance of self-care and work/life boundaries from Austin. When I’m not at work, my phone is off, my computer is shut down, and I am doing things that I love. Like, morning walks and hikes with Danny, cooking, puzzling, farmer’s markets, beach time, and reading.


This Spring, I have been working my way through an online class with one of my heroines (mentioned above), Brene Brown. I’ve fallen pretty far behind, but Brene says that it is totally fine, so I’m going at my own pace. I’m still reading one of her books for that class, and am also finally reading Be Here Now by Ram Dass (the original JewBu!). One of the first things that interested me about Danny was his spiritual side – which has a definite Buddhist slant – and he has introduced me to Alan Watts, Ram Dass, Eckhart Tolle, and Krishnamurti, and their work has had a profound impact on my life and my worldview. And, as it turns out, I really, really enjoy reading, pondering, and talking about the existential side, values systems, egos, and the importance of perspective.


It’s been rainy this weekend, but we’ve managed to squeeze in some hikes around the rain and it’s been the perfect weather to indulge in Grace and Frankie, as season 2 was released this weekend, and Danny and I both love it! Danny wasn’t super familiar with Lily Tomlin until we saw Grandma last summer – which is excellent! – and then we discovered her new Netflix show. My parents weren’t fans – the characters are a bit too stereotypical for their tastes, which I understand – but D and I really like it.

And with that, I’m off to the farmer’s market to buy a crate of strawberries, some sausages, and to check for tomatoes. Tomato season in Santa Cruz County is my favorite. Hope you all are having a lovely weekend!


Love.

Leave a Reply

