All I Do is Walk, Eat, and Read.

Hellooooooo!! 

Danny went to SoCal to spend the week with his fam – I’ll be joining him on Friday – so I have the apartment to myself all weekend. And…it’s kind of wonderful! I always enjoy the first few days of stretching out in the bed, finding things as I left them, and not having to factor in anyone else for decisions like what’s for dinner and what to listen to. (After a few days, I do start to miss him. I really like my buddy. ❤️) 

Love this philosophy.


I’ve made some really good meals lately, if I do say so myself. I’ve been having more work lunches lately, so I’m especially enjoying cooking dinner. Here’s some recipes that we’re enjoying: 

Stuffed Poblano Peppers. We probably have this one once a month. I normally serve with sliced avocado and tortillas. 

Killer Spinach Salad. (This one has meat; sorry, Parents!) D has learned to appreciate salads more since we started dating and I tend to make us some version of a big dinner salad with bread once a week. The key to making a salad filling enough to be dinner is to add FAT and PROTEIN. Cheese, avocado, hard-boiled egg, beans, meat, tofu, olive oil: these are the things that make us feel satiated. Vegetables are so important, but you need the fats too! And a little goes a long way. 

Twice-Baked Potatoes. I don’t really follow this recipe, as I A) don’t want to get heart disease when I’m 40, and B) it’s unnecessary. I like to add diced red pepper, use sautéed white onion when I don’t have green, sub mushrooms for bacon, sub part yogurt for part sour cream, etc. You can really make it your own! And it’s such an easy quick dinner with a side salad. 

I also make some version of pasta pretty much every week. Often, I’ll sauté a bunch of veggies (onions, peppers, spinach, garlic), then add tomato sauce and spices and sometimes a little cream, mix in the pasta, and serve with Parmesan and black pepper. Other times, I’ll be a bit more creative. My parents and us all really like this brown butter mushroom pasta; cooking it in broth added a lot of flavor. I subbed spinach for the chard because it’s the greens I had on hand. 


The above has been my breakfast for the past two days: onions and peppers sautéed in butter and scrambled with eggs and pepper jack cheese, a tortilla, sliced tomatoes with salt and pepper, and sliced avocado. I really want to start making fresh tortillas; Danny’s parents do and it really takes them to the next level. We just need to get the flattener contraption (and a bigger kitchen). 

Oh, and THIS:


I impulsively bought this at Trader Joe’s (the only place where I impulsively buy anything) and am so happy I did. I drink tea most mornings because we don’t have a coffee maker (and because I like tea), but sometimes also end up buying coffee. This is perfect for those mornings that I’d rather have coffee and is far more cost-effective. And tastes better, actually. I love TJ’s. 

I really like food, in case that’s not clear. So do my parents. The whole paternal side of my family actually. 


Yesterday, I was invited to join coworkers on a Brew Cruz to celebrate the grad school graduation of one of the women that I supervise. I was kind of skeptical and awkward at first. For one, there were workers, supervisors, and my manager, and throwing alcohol in the mix makes me wary and uncomfortable. Plus, I rarely drink any alcohol at all now and my body just barely tolerates it. But it ended up being a great time and I bonded with some of my coworkers in a way that only alcohol allows. And, I knew my limits, both in intake and socially, and respected them, so I feel great today. (Oh, and the above photo was to show Danny that I straightened my hair for the time in 2.5 years, and remembered exactly why I stopped: it’s time-consuming and fruitless. And makes me *obsessive* about trying to get everything straight when, again, that is fruitless. Was nice to see just how long my hair is though.)


I’m still walking everyday. Our location is pretty much ideal, as we are 20-25 minutes from downtown and Trader Joe’s and 5 minutes from the beach. I walked to downtown earlier today and just felt as grateful as I always do for how pretty Santa Cruz is. 


While downtown, I picked up creamer (see: coffee concentrate above), a new marker for my dry erase board (where I keep track of weekly appts and to dos), and a new journal. 

Not only do I like the pattern and colors, it is embroidered! By hand! You can almost tell in this pic: 


I also wandered around the bookstore for a bit, and resisted buying any more books. My ‘To Read’ stack is pretty high already and my time isn’t getting any freer! 

Speaking of reading, here are some things I enjoyed from the interwebs this week: 

The Dangerous Acceptance of Donald Trump. As much as I’d like to, the political season is unavoidable. And terrifying. Honestly, the only thing that scares me more than a Trump presidency is how many people are supporting him. Whether he wins or not, a large percentage of our county supports his values and ideals, and THAT is seriously unsettling. 

Digital Sabbath. This is a short, informal essay in the form of a Facebook post from the beloved Elizabeth Gilbert about taking one day a week OFF from our phones. I love this idea, and also have no idea how to implement it (which is a little ridiculous, I know). Speaking of Elizabeth Gilbert, this is a great interview with her. She is so wise. 

Cheri Huber – Ram Dass. “It is not my experience that we are here to fix the world, that we are here to change anything at all. I think we are here so the world can change us. And if part of that change is that the suffering of the world moves us to compassion, to awareness, to sympathy, to love, that is a very good thing.” More wisdoms about the spiritual journey that is Life. ❤️

Pe-TISH-ion. As always, Glennon is always so honest, so real, and so, so good at teaching love. This is about little girls growing up in a culture obsessed with women’s appearances and it made me feel all sorts of things. An excerpt: 

“When I was little — I looked at the one size fits none standard of beauty and thought: ‘Damn. There’s something wrong with me.’ And Tish will look at the same crap and say: ‘Damn. There’s something wrong with THAT.’ […] And she’ll likely get a little pissed. And that’s what I want. I want girls who are angry instead of sick. Tweet: And she’ll likely get a little pissed. That’s what I want. I want girls who are angry instead of sick.” Here’s to girls who are angry! ❤️

This is actually a tiny swath of what I read on the internet each week. Maybe that’s why I don’t have time to read real books…

Off to remedy that. 😉 Have a great week, Loves! 

Leave a Reply

